Kalamaoo County

Department of Planning & Community Development

County Generalized Zoning Map

Kalamazoo County does not have a county-wide zoning ordinance. Instead, each of the 24 local units of government (cities, villages, and townships) establishes its own zoning ordinance and an official zoning map.

In an effort to make it easier to see the overall pattern of zoning in the county, we have created a Generalized Zoning Map. This map shows a set of several broad zoning categories. Each local government's actual zoning classes are assigned to one of the general categories, and the resulting map thus gives an approximate picture of how land is zoned across the entire county.

This Generalized Zoning Map is available as a downloadable PDF, and can be ordered full size (36" x 42") from the Department of Planning and Community Develpment. The map also appears as a basemap layer in our online GIS application. For more detailed information about how this map was created, see the associated whitepaper.

For specific information about zoning in our cities, townships, and villages, use the links below. Only these local governments can answer questions about zoning or provide authoritative interpretations of their zoning maps or ordinances. Kalamazoo County provides this Generalized Zoning Map solely as a visual aid.

Ordinances for the following municipalities may be found at Municode.com:

City of Parchment
City of Portage
Village of Richland
Village of Schoolcraft
Comstock Township
Kalamazoo Township
Oshtemo Township
Pavilion Township
Richland Township

Ordinances for other municipalities:

City of Kalamazoo
Village of Climax
Alamo Township
Brady Township
Charleston Township
Prairie Ronde Township
Ross Township
Schoolcraft Township
Texas Township
Wakeshma Township

Ordinances not available online (Contact local government officials for information on zoning):

City of Galesburg
Village of Augusta
Village of Vicksburg
Climax Township
Cooper Township