Kalamaoo County

Department of Planning & Community Development


In Kalamazoo County, zoning and building inspections are mainly administered by each township, city and village. The townships of Comstock, Cooper, Kalamazoo and Oshtemo are part of the newly formed Kalamazoo Area Building Authority (KABA). KABA combines the building departments of the four townships and can be reached at 269-743-4566 or www.kaba-mi.org. There is no county zoning nor county site plan review of developments. Zoning and building code inquiries should be directed to the appropriate local government office or KABA.

Townships Telephone (269-)
Alamo Township 382-3366
Brady Township 649-1813
Charleston Township665-7805
Climax Township746-4103
Comstock Township743-4566
Cooper Township743-4566
Kalamazoo Township743-4566
Oshtemo Township743-4566
Pavilion Township327-0462
Prairie Ronde Township679-5666
Richland Township629-4921
Ross Township731-4414
Schoolcraft Township649-1276
Texas Township375-1591
Wakeshma Township778-3728
City of Galesburg665-7000
City of Kalamazoo Zoning Inspections 337-8026
City of Parchment349-3785
City of Portage Community Development 329-4466
Village of Augusta731-5517
Village of Climax746-4174
Village of Richland629-9903
Village of Schoolcraft679-4304
Village of Vicksburg649-1919