Kalamaoo County

Area Agency on Aging Region IIIA


The Area Agency on Aging IIIA, also known as Older Adult Services, is housed within the Health & Community Services Department of Kalamazoo County Government, which is a unique department consisting of Public Health, Veterans Services, Community Action Agency, and other programs. Older adults and their caregivers are well served because referrals can be made to other programs and services within the department with ease.

The mission of the Kalamazoo County Health & Community Services Department is to improve the overall health of the community through coordinated planning, resource development, and service delivery, so all members of the community can participate in the opportunities, benefits, and responsibilities of society.

The AAAIIIA follows the department's non-discrimination policy, "Kalamazoo County Health & Community Services is committed to providing equitable, culturally competent care to all individuals served, regardless of race, age, sex, color, national origin, religion, height, weight, marital status, political affiliation, sexual orientation, gender identity or disability."

History of AAA's
To learn more about the history of AAAs, please view this publication (Area Agencies on Aging: Local Leaders in Aging and Community Living) from the national Association of Area Agencies on Aging.

The Older American's Act

Older Adult Services Advisory Council (OASAC)

Appointed by the Kalamazoo County Board of Commissioners and meeting once a month, the OASAC serves as an advisory body to the Area Agency on Aging, Region IIIA of Kalamazoo County, and is comprised of community members and professionals within the aging network. OASAC also assists AAAIIIA staff in determining annual planning goals and priorities for older adult services through regularly scheduled and publicized meetings regarding older adult services and programs. Information on meeting schedule and times can be found on the Kalamazoo County Public Notices tab.

Current Advisory Council members are:
Don Ryan, Chair 
John Hilliard, Vice-Chair 
Tim Charron 
David Eyke 
Kimberly Middleton
Kimberly Phillips 
Beulah Price 
Kelly Quardokus 
Rosamond Robbert 
Dawn Shilts
Commissioner Mike Quinn