Board of Commissioners

Parks and Recreation Commission

The Parks and Recreation Commission was created by the Board of Commissioners under Public Act 261 of 1965.  In general, its function is to oversee, plan, develop, preserve, administer, maintain and operate public parks and recreational facilities in Kalamazoo County.  Appointments are made for three-year terms of office.  Meeting dates, time, and location are posted on the County’s Public Meeting Notice page.

Contact:  David Rachowicz at 269-383-8778 or by email.

Board Members Term Expiration
Sandra Bliesener (Planning Commissioner)County Planning Commission
Steve Grieve (General Public)12/31/2023
Michael Harrison (General Public)12/31/2023
Marion Hill (General Public)12/31/2025
Thomas Matteson (General Public)12/31/2023
Wendy Mazer (County Board of Commissions)Commissioner
Robert Moore (General Public)12/31/2024
Larry Stehouwer (Road Commissioner)Road Commissioner
Toni Thompson (General Public)12/31/2025
Jason Wiersma (Drain Commissioner)Drain Commissioner

Further information can be obtained by calling the Board of Commissioners Office at 269-384-8111.