Birth Certificates (1867 - present)
Effective January 1, 2021, due to COVID-19 the Kalamazoo County Clerk / Register of Deeds office is closed to the public upon further notice. Limited in-person services are available by appointment only; all other services can be completed online or by mail.
Birth records for those born in Kalamazoo County, Michigan are recorded and filed in the Kalamazoo County Clerk's office. Birth certificates take approximately two to three weeks to process after the day the infant is born. Birth Certificates are not public record and available only to the parent, legal guardian, or the individual named on the certificate. All requests require a valid government issued photo ID such as a driver's license.
How to Obtain a Certified Birth Certificate
Birth certificates can currently be requested by mail or drop box, by email, or fax. The certified copy of a birth certificate will be mailed to you within 5 business days of the receipt of the request. You are welcome to expedite your request for an additional $40.00.
If you do not have government-issued picture identification, you can provide three pieces of alternative identification.
Acceptable forms include:
- Marriage License
- Divorce Judgment
- Certified copy of birth record where requestor is parent or subject
- Signed Federal, State, or Local Tax Return or W-2
- Pay Stub
- Voter Card
- Vehicle Registration
- Bridge Card
- Health Insurance Card
- Utility Bill
- Medical Bill
- Baptismal Certificate
- Military Discharge
- School Records
- Current Student Photo ID
- Letter from a Government Agency, (i.e. SSA, IRS, Michigan DHHS)
- Lease/Rental Agreement
- Bank Statement or Card
- State or Federal Prison Photo ID with release or discharge paper (dated within one year)
- Blood Donor Card
- Expired Federal or US State/Territory Issued Photo Identification including expired US passport (non-MI)
- Land sale contract or original deed to real property—either must include name and signature
- Unexpired medical marijuana card issued by Michigan (including name, DOB, photo)
- Original vehicle title
- Profession/Trade License or Card issued by Michigan or State Bar of Michigan
- Unexpired Association /Club Membership Card (including name and picture)
- Unexpired Auto Roadside Assistance Card
- Unexpired Proof of Car Insurance
Filing a Home Birth
Homebirth attendants are required to report live births in the state of Michigan. Michigan law requires a birth to be reported within 5 days of the date of occurrence. If the mother is unmarried and wishes to name the father on the birth record, an Affidavit of Parentage is required per MCL 333.2824 (2).
As of May 2020, licensed midwives are able to electronically register home births for their clients. The Vital Events Registration Application (VERA) is the secure online application used for reporting births. To gain access to VERA, please contact MDHHSVR-Registration@Michigan.gov.
Changes to a Birth Record
To change a birth record, add a father or verify a change as been made to a birth record please visit State of Michigan - Department of Community Health.
Clerk / Register of Deeds
Chief Deputy Clerk / Register of Deeds
Office Hours *
8:00am - 4:30pm Monday - Friday
*The Clerk/Register of Deeds office is currently open by appointment only.