Office of the Prosecuting Attorney
Victim Compensation Act
The Michigan Crime Victim Compensation act was begun to give financial help to crime victims who are hurt or lose earnings or support because of the crime. Victim Assistance will be able to help with any questions you might have. Applications may be received from our office.
To receive compensation:
- The crime must have happened in the State of Michigan.
- The crime must be reported to the police with 48 hours and the victim must cooperate with the investigation.
- A person must have a $200.00 out-of-pocket medical expense and/or loss of two continuous weeks of earnings or support.
- The claim must be filed within one year from the date of the criminal injury. In the case of death, a claim may be filed by a family member.
- Expenses or losses that are covered by personal insurance or that can be paid by another source will not be covered.