Planning & Development Department

Climate Action and Climate Justice Advisory Council


Since 2019, five municipalities in Kalamazoo County in addition to the County itself passed resolutions declaring a Climate Emergency and recognizing the need for a concerted effort to formulate a coordinated plan of action to create a county with a resilient economy that expands opportunity and diversity, readily recovers from climate hazard events, adopts redundant climate-ready infrastructure, promotes healthy populations, and protects natural resources, ecosystems, and agriculture. A community-informed Climate Action and Climate Justice Plan at the county level is under development with residents, stakeholders, and governmental staff providing input throughout the decision-making process.

Creation of the plan is supported by a 3-year grant from the U.S. EPA and the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy, which was jointly secured by the Kalamazoo County and Kalamazoo Climate Crisis Coalition (KCCC), a local non-profit committed to furthering climate action initiatives. The development of the Plan is a county-wide collaborative between local organizations, educational institutions, and governments to accelerate environmental justice and climate action planning and implementation in Kalamazoo County.

Contact: Taylor Van Winkle
Climate Sustainability Coordinator
Phone: 269-384-6455

Board Members
Bobby Boyd Office of Community Engagement with the U.S. Department of Energy
Christine Charles MSU Extension Educator
Dr. Cheryl Dickson Associate Dean for Health Equity and Community Affairs and Chief Diversity Officer at Western Michigan University
Jenny Doezema Co-Chair, Vice President of Learning and Engagement at Kalamazoo Nature Center
Rick Freiman Portage Planning Commissioner
Justin Gish City of Kalamazoo Sustainability Planner
Joan Hawxhurst Kalamazoo Regional Education Service Agency Career Coach
Matt Hollander Managing Principal of Hollander Development
Jenni Juardo  
Tricia Keala Kalamazoo Conservation District Board Member
Mark McKeon El Concilio Board Member
Rev. Ruth Moerdyk Hope for Creation Coordinator
Jeff Spolestra Director of the Office of Sustainability at Western Michigan University
Bionca Stewart Kalamazoo County Environmental Health Advisory Council Member
Dr. Sara Tanis Director of Sustainable Horticulture at Kalamazoo Valley Community College
Carli Thompson Nature Educator at the Kalamazoo Nature Center
Taylor Van Winkle Co-Chair, Climate Sustainability Coordinator